Hypnotic Eye


Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers will release their new album Hypnotic Eye through Reprise Records. The album is their first since 2010’s well-received ‘Mojo’ set and represents the band’s thirteenth studio album.

Recorded periodically at the band’s Los Angeles rehearsal space The Clubhouse since August 2011, Hypnotic Eye was recently described by Rolling Stone magazine as “maximum rock & roll” and “a decisive return to the concise Sixties-rock classicism of his first great New Wave era albums.” Tom Petty added: ""I knew I wanted to do a rock & roll record. We hadn't made a straight hard-rockin' record, from beginning to end, in a long time.”

The band – completed by Mike Campbell (guitar), Ron Blair (bass), Steve Ferrone (drums), Benmont Tench (keyboards) and multi-instrumentalist Scott Thurston – have delivered an eleven-track album featuring song titles including ‘American Dream Plan B’, ‘Red River’, ‘Burnt Out Town’ and ‘Shadow People’. The album was produced by Petty, Campbell and Ryan Ulyate, who has worked on numerous Heartbreakers albums as well as the debut from Mudcrutch.

Notify me when Hypnotic Eye is available.

back to top