Ken Follett's The Pillars Of The Earth Release Date Narrows To August

article image

The interactive novel The Pillars of the Earth, based on Ken Follett's bestseller, will be arriving with its first instalment Book 1: From Ashes this August.

Set in 12 century England during a time of poverty and conflict, the small village of Kingsbridge has begun the huge undertaking of building a cathedral to draw wealth and establish security. Three playable characters will struggle to survive as their destinies intertwine.

"Play as Jack, Aliena and Philip and change the events of the book through exploration, decision-making and dialogues. This interactive novel is released in three 'books', containing 7 chapters each," reads The Pillars of the Earth Steam store page.

"Philip the monk becomes prior of the small abbey of Kingsbridge. At the same time, a boy called Jack is raised in the woods by his outlawed mother. His apprenticeship as a stonemason paves his way to become a gifted master builder. Together with the disgraced noblewoman Aliena, Jack and Philip begin the construction of one of the greatest cathedrals England will ever see."

The Pillars of the Earth splits across three books spanning over 30 years involving war, conspiracy and romance. The game is illustrated by over 200 hand-painted backgrounds with fully animated 2D style characters and props. It features fully voiced characters available in English and German. Daedalic Entertainment took the 1200-page book 'as a blueprint' and developed this interactive novel with a nonlinear storyline.

Ken Follett's The Pillars of the Earth - Book 1: From Ashes releases on PC, Xbox One and PlayStation 4 in August 2017.

Ken Follett's The Pillars of the Earth
Daedalic Entertainment's latest adventure game is an interactive novel based on the popular book series by Ken Follet...
Release Dates
15 Aug 2017-PS4
15 Aug 2017-iOS
15 Aug 2017-Xbox One
back to top